The Soccer Desk

NWSL: Goalkeeper of the Year; FC Kansas City’s Nicole Barnhart


On Wednesday, the National Women’s Soccer League announced the goalkeeper of the year recipient. The title goes to FC Kansas City’s Nicole Barnhart who recorded a league leading 10 shutouts and was third in goals against and fifth in saves this season.

Barnhart who is a member of the US Women’s National team joins Lauren Holiday (Golden Boot) and Erika Tymrak (Rookie of the Year) as the third player from FC Kansas City to win one of the end of the year honors. Barnhart’s strong performance in goal was a crucial element to her team’s 10 game unbeaten run this season.

Here is a complete list of shutouts for FC Kansas City keeper Nicole Barnhart this year:

Shutout Date Opponent Saves Result
1 April 26 Seattle Reign FC 5 saves W 2-0
2 May 4 Seattle Reign FC 4 saves W 1-0
3 May 18 Boston Breakers 4 saves W 2-0
4 June 9 Seattle Reign FC 4 saves W 1-0
5 June 23 Washington Spirit 3 saves W 2-0
6 June 30 Portland Thorns FC 5 saves W 2-0
7 July 7 Western New York Flash 3 saves D 0-0
8 July 20 Seattle Reign FC 1 save W 2-0
9 July 24 Boston Breakers 1 save W 3-0
10 July 28 Sky Blue FC 4 saves W 1-0

Finishing above Adriana Franch of the Western New York Flash and Karina LeBlanc of the Portland Thorns, both were tied for second place in the final vote, Barnhart will now face off against LeBlanc on Saturday in the first of two semi-final games to determine who will go to the inaugural NWSL Championship game next Saturday.

The match between FC Kansas City and the Portland Thorns can be seen live on Fox Sports 2 or on Fox Soccer 2 Go on Saturday, August 24 at 2:00pm ET. The winner will either travel to Rochester, NY or home to host the Championship Game on Saturday, August 31.

Photo courtsey of FC Kansas City / John Rieger